Please review the face recognition setting
Your face recognition setting is off. We want to let you know what face recognition is and how we use it, and then you can decide whether to turn it on or keep it off.How we use face recognition
If you turn this setting on, we’ll create your face recognition template and use it in the following types of ways:
- Find photos and video you’re in so we can help you review or share content, suggest tags and provide more relevant content and feature recommendations.
- Help protect yourself and others from impersonation and identity misuse, and improve platform reliability.
- Provide accessibility features by telling people with visual impairments who’s in a photo or video.
What we collect
Face recognition is a technology that analyses photos and videos you’re in to calculate a unique number, called a “template”. When your face recognition setting is on, we create and use your template to compare it to analyses of other photos or videos to recognise if you appear in that content.
We don’t share your template with anyone. We’ll keep your template while your account is active but will delete it if you turn your face recognition setting off.
Do you want to turn on the face recognition setting?
To understand how we use face recognition, please see the previous page. These examples help explain how your experience changes if you turn the setting on or keep it off. You can always manage this later in Settings.When this setting is on:
- We can notify you about photos you’re in but haven’t been tagged in.
- We can help protect against someone using your photo to impersonate you.
- We can tell people with visual impairments when you’re in a photo or video through a screen reader.
When this setting is off:
- We’ll still notify you when someone tags you in a photo.
- We won’t be able to use face recognition to help stop someone from impersonating you, but we’ll continue to work to protect your account in other ways.
- People with visual impairments will only be told that you’re in a photo if you’re tagged.